News, views & chat from the people of West London
Hillingdon, 
London Borough, News, Pictures, Chat
Hillingdon weather
MAIN INDEX | PHOTOS | HAYES | UXBRIDGE
+ + Check out the LATEST photos! + + JOIN THE DEBATES + + IT'S GOOD TO TALK! + +
Advertisement

It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 9:05 am

All times are UTC + 1 hour [ DST ]

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 12:01 am 

Being an avid reader (predominately fiction)
I have been using this website for a couple of years and found it to be a godsend.
It does for books what http://www.imdb.comdoes for films and TV.
It's http://www.fantasticfiction.co.uk/
It is It's basically a massive database containing 30,000 authors and 350,000 books.
I suppose being slightly anal, I've kept paper records for over 15 years of all the books I've read and a couple of years ago I entered these into my own database.
Unfortunately most of the books I read, I either pick them up at jumble sales or get them from the library. These days I'm reading a lot of crime fiction and quite often a lot are witten as series, charting both the professional and personal lives of the protagonists. So getting the books the way I do ie. from the library and jumble sales, you can rarely get them in the correct order.
So if I come across a really good book, I look up the author on this website to get the order of the series if any and then reserve the rest of the series on line to pick up from library for a charge of 50p, if neccessary rereading the one I'd already read but this time in correct order. The few times they haven't stocked the book at any of the borough libraries I then order it for my kindle.
Probably wasting my time with this post though as unlike the previous incarnation of this thread in the lost website site, it seems to be more for writer than readers.
Oh well.
Phil
:?:

PostPosted: Mon May 20, 2013 12:59 am